INFORMATION

This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are essential to make our site work and others help us to improve by giving us some insight into how the site is being used.

For further information, see our Privacy Policy.

Continuing to use this website is acceptance of these cookies.

We are not accepting any new registrations.

Educating Boys

For discussions related to education and educational institutions.
Nick

Educating Boys

#1 Post by Nick » September 11th, 2010, 1:50 pm

Did anyone see Gareth Malone's Extraordinary School For Boys on BBC2 last week?

I found it very interesting and think it raised a number of issues. In discussing these, all I can offer is my personal thoughts and experience, I have no specific knowledge of child psychology nor education, nor do I have children of my own, but I have been a lad (honest!) and been through education of various types. My views are also fairly general, and should be read with that in mind. All comments very welcome.

I was very pleased to see the topic aired. We'll see what happens in subsequent episodes, but it would be a pity, IMO, if it did not include any academic opinion. Partly because Gareth may have been able to benefit from it, and partly to challenge academics in the real world.